Multi-company chat on Workplace
Multi-company chats (MCCs) allow people in multi-company groups (MCGs) to chat, video and voice call in 1:1 or group threads.
Requirements to use MCGs
Users need to meet some requirements to use multi-company chat:
- They need to be in the same multi-company group.
- They need to have a verified domain (their domain has to match their company's verified domain).
- They can't have changed their name in the last month.
If you start a chat with a person who works at a different organization that meets the above criteria, they'll receive a message request. In that message request, the person will be able to see your name, job title, company, profile picture and content of the message. The person won't be able to see your profile or search for it, and the message status won't switch to delivered until the person has accepted the request.
What happens when I accept a message request?
Once a message request has been accepted, you'll be able to:
- Search for that person in Workplace and Workplace Chat.
- Start a chat, call or video call with the person.
- See a message's status (delivered or read; this is applicable to both people in the chat).
- Add the person to a group chat.
Note: Users will only be able to create up to 25 multi-company chat threads per day. Only users with a managed account will be able to access the 1:1 multi-company chat beta at this time.
Synced multi-company chat
When you create a standard or multi-company Workplace group, you will have the option to create a synced group chat.
Synced group chats automatically contain all members of your multi-company group. If a member leaves the group, they'll simultaneously leave the chat. If a group member leaves the chat, however, they won't leave the group.
Unlike manually created multi-company chats, inviting someone to a multi-company group with synced chat enabled will not send them a message request. Instead, they will receive a group invite and will be automatically added to the chat if they accept.
Group admins can disable this feature at any time from the group's settings. Keep in mind that for synced chat to work, the group will need to have less than 250 members.